Top EEC Award Honors for 2019 go to…


We’re excited to announce the winners for the 2019 eec Awards!

It turned out to be a group of candidates this year. The eec Awards Subcommittee reviewed examples of innovators who are advancing excellence that is email and delivering better experiences for consumers. And the winners are:

Kait CreamerThe 2019 eec Stefan Pollard Email Marketer of the Year Award goes to Kait Creamer, Email Marketing Manager at Scaled Agile, Inc..

Kait advocates for empathetic”surprise and delight” email marketing in and out her job as Scaled Agile’s Email Marketing Manager. Vice-chair of the EEC’s Events and Education committee and featured on Phrasee’s”Who to Follow” series, she is an expert and enthusiast in email, information, and marketing automation, always pushing for next greatest customer-centric campaign. Kait managed the digital marketing and automation plan at Boulder SaaS innovator, MakeMusic prior to joining the Scaled Agile team. She has served on the programming committee for MediaPost’s Email Insider Summit and is an member of Women of Mail. She believes protecting clean copy, the contributor, and finding new opportunities for innovation in email.

What this recognition means to Kait:”I’m beyond honored to follow in the footsteps of the previous years’ winners of the Stefan Pollard award–what a brilliant bunch. I have never found that a community so driven by innovation, empathy, and community, so to be recognized for my work inside the industry is immensely humbling. It is a team effort, and I’m endlessly grateful to be surrounded by such smart, kind, and generous individuals whose willingness to educate and discuss have helped me excel at job I love doing. I’m thrilled to bits to receive such a prestigious award in email, and now more than ever, I am eager to see where we as a community will take our skills, our driveway, and our dedication to human connection next.”

[About the Stefan Pollard Mail Marketer of the Year Award: This award was established in honour of Stefan Pollard, a highly respected and loved member of the email marketing community who passed away in 2010. Pollard was considered a selfless mentor and winner of best practices. The award honors a marketer who demonstrates high professional standards and the qualities that Pollard exemplified during his life. ]

2019 Pollard Finalist: Lisa Eng, Director of Retention; Prose Hair 


Matt VernhoutThe Email Marketer Thought Leader of the Year Award goes to Matthew Vernhout, Director of Privacy & Industry Relations in 250ok.

For almost 20 years, Matt remains a winner for liberating email’s potential through influencing legislation and compliance with international laws and refining marketing and privacy best practices, surpassing, and handling ISP expectations. He’s a Certified International Privacy Professional (Canada) (CIPP/C), former Chair of the eec Advocacy Subcommittee, and present Vice-Chair of the eec Member Advisory Committee. In advocating for best practices in email marketing his efforts resonated with the Awards Subcommittee members that were eec.

This honor means to Matt:”I am incredibly honoured to win this award and join the ranks of previous winners. Seeing the email business mature over the last two decades and being able to take part in its development, learning from my peers and sharing my thoughts, is what makes our community unique. In 2007, I started talking to the world on my website, hoping someone would care enough to read what I had to say, and now, to be recognized this way, when there are so many wonderful and deserving people, means the world to me and I am humbled by this honor.”

[About the Thought Leader Award: This award recognizes an industry leader that has made a substantial positive impact on the email marketing community as a whole, or on individual customer (s). Technically, although these individuals frequently work as an extension of a customer’s team are employed at a third-party firm. ]

2019 Thought Leader Finalist: Kath Pay, CEO; Holistic Email Marketing

To learn more and to view past winners and present winners for the 2019 eec Program Awards, go to our Awards page.


Voting is still open for the People’s Choice Award for the Best Use of Humor, Personality, Content, or Brand. Vote for your favorite. Voting rules: one vote per voting and person ends April 15th.

Learn more & vote for your favorite.

We hope to see you in the Email Evolution Seminar April 24-26, 2019 at Savannah, GA where we’ll be celebrating and cheering on all of our winners!

Shanon Strahl, Chair of eec Awards Subcommittee and Mark Talley, Vice-Chair of eec Awards Subcommittee

The post Top EEC Award Honors for 2019 visit … appeared first on EEC – Email Experience Council – DMA.